Archive for October 31st, 2009

WWE on Muchnick’s CHRIS & NANCY — The Twitter Daily Dozen for October 31

For a live feed of this continuing series, follow @irvmuch at Twitter.

PARTS 373 – 384

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 373 statements were false when made originally, false when repeated by me, and my statement that

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 374 Mr. McDevitt had mislead me was also therefore false” I do not agree that your draft Item#2

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 375 should be published for the reasons stated above.

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 376 Irvin Muchnick email to Jerry McDevitt, 6/18/09 3:28 p.m., “RE: Muchnick to McDevitt”

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 377 * I have no problem with publishing your email of yesterday in its entirety.

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 378 * Even after your feedback, my retraction post reads fine to me — simply stating that the item

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 379 was wrong and I take responsibility for it personally and apologize for it. Meltzer has nothing

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 380 to do with my own decision to publish the mistaken fact, and with my own need to correct it

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 381 as promptly as possible. I am open to other possible edits that might make it satisfactory

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 382 from your perspective. Please let me know. * The second draft post was shown to you in good faith,

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 383 not with the idea that you could veto it. I didn’t think it would be right not to tell you that I

WWE on Muchnick’s ‘CHRIS & NANCY’ Pt. 384 would proceed to explain. My more extended commentary, outside the four walls of the retraction,

Let’s Not Go Reflecting on the ‘Fan Community’ Or Anything

In the chapter of CHRIS & NANCY about the “Wikipedia hacker,” I discuss drilling into the Benoit discussion threads of some of the most popular wrestling fan boards, including one called “WrestleCrap.” I quoted Madison Carter, a Texas-based wrestling fan who moderates the WrestleCrap board, as telling me that he had “a hidden board that contains all the stuff from that night [discussion of the Benoit murders] that we didn’t outright delete, only accessible by my mods [moderators] and I.”

In the thread yesterday at the WrestlingClassics discussion board, cited in my previous post, Madison Carter has this to say:

“Mr. Muchnick … came to … me about seeing if he could get access to the ‘vault’ (for want of a better word) of deleted threads we had stored from the 2-3 day period it took place in; I guess so that they could see the real-time reaction from online fans. Thought about it a bit and decided I didn’t want to let what was going on in those threads — which weren’t truly indicitave of our board’s usual nature — reflect upon us or the fan community.”

 

Irv Muchnick

CHRIS & NANCY Dustup at Fan Discussion Board

For an absolutely hilarious forum about my book, go to the discussion board at the Wrestling Classics fan site:

http://wrestlingclassics.com/.ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=103539;p=1

If you’d rather read the thread in PDF form, go to http://muchnick.net/wrestlingclassics.pdf.

 

Irv Muchnick

Benoit Book Author Muchnick Interviewed on CBC Radio’s ‘Daybreak Alberta’

Irvin Muchnick, author of CHRIS & NANCY: The True Story of the Benoit Murder-Suicide and Pro Wrestling’s Cocktail of Death, is interviewed on the Sunday, November 1, edition of CBC Radio’s Daybreak Alberta.

Daybreak Alberta host Russell Bowers also will be giving away copies of the book.

The show airs from 6 to 9 a.m., Mountain time, on Calgary’s 1010 AM and Edmonton’s 740 AM. The program also streams live online at http://www.cbc.ca/listen.

Muchnick’s Iowa Radio Interview in Podcast Form

Irvin Muchnick’s interview on Thursday with The Morning Report with Sean Patrick on WOC 1420 AM in Davenport, Iowa, can be heard at the station’s podcast page, http://www.woc1420.com/cc-common/podcast.html.

When the segment is no longer available at the station’s site, it will be downloadable at http://muchnick.net/woc102909.mp3.

CHRIS & NANCY: The Great Debate

A guy named Gary Cubeta, who hosts an Internet radio wrestling talk show, has posted a pan of my book at Amazon.  Weighing in at 33 words – perhaps maxing out on how long Cubeta can sustain a thought – the review concludes  with five that anyone could agree with: “my opinions, yours may vary.”

One whose opinions vary is Derek Burgan, a prolific reviewer of wrestling books and DVDs. On Friday night Burgan appeared on Cubeta’s show for a Siskel-and-Ebert debate about CHRIS & NANCY. (Burgan: two thumbs up. Cubeta: two thumbs down.) You can listen to the audio at http://muchnick.net/burgan-cubeta.mp3.

Burgan emailed me, “I was flabbergasted that someone could read the whole book and come away with the conclusion that you were trying to answer why Chris killed Nancy.” He also said, “LOVED the ‘negative’ comments about the book such as ‘too well written’ and ‘too researched.’ How do you respond to that?”

Naturally, your humble blogger thinks Derek is brilliant.

Cubeta, meanwhile, calls to mind this passage in the last chapter of CHRIS & NANCY:

“You can’t talk to a man with a shotgun in his hand. Nor can you  argue with anyone who thinks a cluster of avoidable deaths, in a show business in a non-war zone, can be rationalized. Vince McMahon knows this; the rest of us only suspect it.”

 

Irv Muchnick